UM Redux: Shanghai Cafe (NYC)

This post is dedicated to Tmonkey and Wong Kar-Wai.

Went to see my acupuncturist the other day in Chinatown. Dr. Wu is a miracle maker, truly, and I send everyone to him for their ailments. Migraines, bad shoulders, allergies, bad knees, insomnia– whatever you’ve got, he’ll fix it, for real.

While pinning needles into my back, he told me I think too much and I eat too much. Perhaps he’s somewhat of a prophet? Dr. Wu multi-tasks: he’s not just a certified acupuncturist, but also my therapist and nutritionist.

So what do you do when the prophet tells you you eat too much? Well, go eat, of course. As a Dr. Wu visit ritual of sorts, I walked two streets over to one of my absolute favorite restaurant in NYC. Remember Tmonkey’s awesome video from last year? He wasn’t lying, this place is THE BEST for soup dumplings.


Check out this awesome lighting! As Tmonkey said, this place has a very 2046 vibe. When I come here, I like to pretend I am Zhang Ziyi on a hot date with Tony. I won’t let you break up with me, Tony!
As soon as you sit down, order the #1 on the menu- the tiny steamed buns with crab and pork. It takes some time for these to steam, so better to order them right away to avoid drooling all over the dumplings on the table next to you. Trust me on this.
What makes these superior to other soup dumplings in the city (Grand Sichuan, Joe’s Shanghai) is that the crab does not dry out, which leaves you with a hot hot bite of fluffy, moist goodness.
Make sure to get the Shanghai Lo Mein– saucy udon-like pan fried noodles. Another favorite. I get it with shrimp and mixed meats.
Not on the menu- sauteed pea shoots. Kinda expensive at $15, but if you’re there with a few people, it’s worth it.
Our spread. For all this- 2 trays of dumplings, noodles and the pea-shoots, it was $30 maybe? They have all sorts of other Shanghainese goodies on the menu, but I usually just gorge on the soup dumplings.

Ladies making the dumplings.

Dumplings steaming behind the counter.

Is that Tony?

Shanghai Cafe
100 Mott Street
B
twn. Canal & Hester Streets
New York, NY
T:212.966.3988

10 Responses to “UM Redux: Shanghai Cafe (NYC)”

  1. tmonkey Says:

    I just came back from Congee Village tonight where I was entertaining some clients from out of town, and yeah, the XLB were not half as good as Shanghai Cafe. They make them with *soul* there.

    Oh, the other dish I always always get there is the mustard greens with yuba (tofu skins) and pork and edamame (I am sorry I know the japanese names but not the chinese) dish.

  2. tmonkey Says:

    I just came back from Congee Village tonight where I was entertaining some clients from out of town, and yeah, the XLB were not half as good as Shanghai Cafe. They make them with *soul* there.

    Oh, the other dish I always always get there is the mustard greens with yuba (tofu skins) and pork and edamame (I am sorry I know the japanese names but not the chinese) dish.

  3. sara Says:

    do any LA readers know where to get good soup dumplings in LA? I recommend the dumplings at M in Williamsburg as well!

  4. sara Says:

    do any LA readers know where to get good soup dumplings in LA? I recommend the dumplings at M in Williamsburg as well!

  5. ayagwa Says:

    The neon lights are calling me!

  6. ayagwa Says:

    The neon lights are calling me!

  7. Sonja Says:

    Why have I never been there..

  8. Sonja Says:

    Why have I never been there..

  9. ulrika Says:

    hi can I have the adress to dr wu? Thanks ulrikalinde@hotmail.com

  10. ulrika Says:

    hi can I have the adress to dr wu? Thanks ulrikalinde@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

