Fridgin’ Out: Gay People

Editor’s Note: This post was conceived and written by Yamahomo in response to Fridgin’ Out: Married People. It’s an exclusive sneak peak into the fridge of Gay People. Enjoy!

Yamahomo lives in West Chelsea, on Super Starchitect row (19th St). Cameron Diaz might buy one of the penthouses in my building. Lucky me. Although there was a shooting right outside the apartment last week, it is becoming a VERY hot neighborhood. We don’t have Central Park to walk the dog, or go for a jog, but we have the gallery district right on 10th Avenue, plus soon, there will be the High Line, the fake park that is perfect for fake people like us Gay People.

Gay People are usually highly style-oriented, and appearance counts the most as you can see from the 8th avenue (b/w 14th and 23rd Street) crowd. They might not have any brains, but they put themselves together very nicely.

Having said that, Gay People’s fridges usually doesn’t look like one. It’s all blended in as part of the kitchen. Or the kitchen doesn’t even look like a kitchen. In my case, the kitchen is part of living room. Even if Gay People don’t use their fridge other than to store water and booze, it must be a Sub Zero or Wolf, with custom panels on front to make the blending effect perfect.


Gay People might wear $400 cashmere sweaters, but with a $5 torn T-shirt from K-Mart underneath. This fridge looks like this. This was taken right after a party, hence not much real food inside and filled with left over liquid items. Unlike Married People in Upper West Side, Gay People in West Chelsea have great shopping places, such as Fruit Exchange, Buon Italia, and other various bakeries at the Chelsea Market, where I stop by on my way home from work. Stocking up doesn’t usually happen. Vegetables and meats are purchased and used on the same day.
Unlike other Gay People’s fridge, mine is filled with stuff. From Hoison sauce, low fat mayo, to various Asian ingredients reflecting Yamahomo’s heritage.
Gay People drink the best vodka. Belvedere is the best. Unlike non-cooking Gay People, I have cooking sake, vinegar and other homey items next to the gay vodka. This makes a huge difference in Gay People’s fridges.
Aside from vodka, Gay People never lack chilled wines in the fridge. After happy hour at one of the bars in the neighborhood, Gay People keep on partying, where people can enjoy chilled wine, fruity cocktails or martinis. Discard Skyy vodka on the left. Someone brought it to a party. Low class vodka… Gay People don’t drink beer since it’s too fatty, hence there aren’t any chilled beer glasses either.
Gay people often times use non-“made from scratch” items, such as this chicken tikka masala sauce (on the left). However, creative Yamahomo marinated chicken wings with the sauce, mixed with yogurt, and baked until done. Healthy chicken wings for Gay People. Side note: I cannot live without diet coke. I know it’s unhealthy, and un-gay-like, but I need it when I wake up in the morning. I like coffee too, but it takes too long to wait for coffee and diet coke is my wake up drink.
Yamahomo keeps some weird jars in the fridge. This is stem gingers in sugar syrup. Instead of crystal ginger, it gives a sweeter and more moist texture to cake bakings. This was given to me from a friend who is from London. She is moving back and I went to her apartment and collected items I wanted. She knows I am the only one who would appreciate weird food items, so she gave me Goji berries, disposable paper cups to bake muffins, half used olive oil among others. Yamahomo can be a frugal gay.

Gay People keep their eggs in Sub Zero branded egg container.

Gay People’s freezer is a bit messy. It’s the same concept as wearing an expensive coat out, but their inner self is a mess full of issues, from depression to psycosis. I know you spot Friday’s artichoke dip, and I have to admit I bought this drunk, and had a last minute get together and didn’t have enough time to prepare everything. I like drawer freezers. It’s so much easier to look for items, especially things that have been frozen for who knows how long.
Us puffs like puffy pastries. I always keep puff pastry, as well as filo dough in freezer. You can make easy appetizers that looks and taste like “wow”.

Gay people only drink expensive coffee, hence Kona is stored in the freezer. Like tea, someone told me it keeps fresh being stored in the freezer, and I follow it… Any scientific proof for this?
Gay people usually don’t eat dessert because it’s too fatty. We have to watch our figures to be able to fit into skin tight T-shirts and jeans. However, when we do eat dessert, we buy the good shit. This is pistachio gelato from Buon Italia. It is freakin $14 a container, yet, this is the best shit. They have various flavors, and my fav is this and green apple sorbet. Sorbet, since there is no milk in it, is only $8 something, and all are made in Italy. Gay people are suckers for “Made in Italy”.

Gay people MUST have plenty of ice cubes for martinis, mix drinks, and other fruity drinks. Automatic ice maker definitely makes our lives better.

Gay people usually throw out ripened bananas, but Yamahomo is domesticated enough to keep it for emergency banana nut bread baking when we get invited to a cocktail party at the last minute.

Gay Jap keeps inari sushi (tofu skin cooked in sweet soy sauce) skins for Asian-flavored parties.
Final note: Gay People’s fridges are just as normal as straight ones.

*What’s in your fridge? Send pics to umamimart@gmail.com. Check out all the Fridgin’ Out posts here. Come back every Friday to see all the scary shit we find in these dungeons of moldy condiments.

14 Responses to “Fridgin’ Out: Gay People”

  1. DocChuck Says:

    Why waste bandwidth with such drivel?

  2. DocChuck Says:

    Why waste bandwidth with such drivel?

  3. kayoko Says:

    docchuck is back!

  4. kayoko Says:

    docchuck is back!

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Where do you find these people? Straight peoples fridges don’t look like the one we saw on this blog from the UWS and the gay guys I know, which are way too many for a single straight girl – hence my still being single without sex, their fridges don’t look like this either. I repeat, it is not normal for gay or straight to have old frozen bananas in the freezer regardless if it is subzero, prada, coach or made out of styrofoam. There is never an emergency need to make banana nut bread!!! never

    Maybe it’s just me. Gay guys in Chelsea, again the ones I know, are having plenty of sex. The married UWSiders are having plenty of sex too. Maybe I should freeze an old banana, buy some fillo dough and hope for the best.

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Where do you find these people? Straight peoples fridges don’t look like the one we saw on this blog from the UWS and the gay guys I know, which are way too many for a single straight girl – hence my still being single without sex, their fridges don’t look like this either. I repeat, it is not normal for gay or straight to have old frozen bananas in the freezer regardless if it is subzero, prada, coach or made out of styrofoam. There is never an emergency need to make banana nut bread!!! never

    Maybe it’s just me. Gay guys in Chelsea, again the ones I know, are having plenty of sex. The married UWSiders are having plenty of sex too. Maybe I should freeze an old banana, buy some fillo dough and hope for the best.

  7. kayoko Says:

    hands down the best comment in the history of UM. girl, i’m so with you- good call on the banana freezing. i’m going to buy a ton of them this weekend and put them in the freezer pronto.

    let’s see who gets laid first, me or you.

    reveal yourself!

  8. kayoko Says:

    hands down the best comment in the history of UM. girl, i’m so with you- good call on the banana freezing. i’m going to buy a ton of them this weekend and put them in the freezer pronto.

    let’s see who gets laid first, me or you.

    reveal yourself!

  9. Anonymous Says:

    You already know who I am. I am the pretty, smart, funny, single girl who can’t get laid. And for some reason there are a ton of us in NYC. Why??

    Are all the good-looking, smart, funny, single guys grocery shopping in Chelsea? I don’t know but they sure as hell aren’t buying their milk from my neighborhood…I’m even willing to give it out for free.

    I blame Fresh Direct for all our not getting laid problems. The grocery store used to be a great place to find men, now they get it delivered to their homes. Sorry, now i’m just pointing fingures.

    The banana is already in the freezer, I’ll keep you posted.

  10. Anonymous Says:

    You already know who I am. I am the pretty, smart, funny, single girl who can’t get laid. And for some reason there are a ton of us in NYC. Why??

    Are all the good-looking, smart, funny, single guys grocery shopping in Chelsea? I don’t know but they sure as hell aren’t buying their milk from my neighborhood…I’m even willing to give it out for free.

    I blame Fresh Direct for all our not getting laid problems. The grocery store used to be a great place to find men, now they get it delivered to their homes. Sorry, now i’m just pointing fingures.

    The banana is already in the freezer, I’ll keep you posted.

  11. Yamahomo Says:

    When you get too lonely, frozen hard banana can be used for pleasure.

  12. Yamahomo Says:

    When you get too lonely, frozen hard banana can be used for pleasure.

  13. Sonja Says:

    omg

  14. Sonja Says:

    omg

Leave a Reply

