Chile Relleno Burritos by the Beach


Every time I visit my family in Northern California, I get to spent one night out at the beach in Bodega Bay having dinner with my god parents, Tom and Carol. If I’m lucky, Carol makes my favorite, Chile Relleno Burritos. She has a killer recipe that gets me every time! She fills green poblano battered chiles with jack cheese, wraps them in flour tortillas, pours sauce all over them, then adds more cheese and bakes them. There are always a million toppings (my favorite) including fresh guacamole and salsa. It is perhaps the perfect meal!

appetizers: nachos!

lime and radish salad

toppings

Sunset over the ocean

Carol made fresh baked carrot cake from scratch with cream cheese icing for dessert that just blew us all away. Does it get any better than that? I can’t wait ’til my next trip out.

Thank you, Tom and Carol!

***
Just added:
Chile Relleno Burritos Recipe
(I’m not sure of the exact recipe Carol uses, but this is pretty close)

Ingredients:
One dozen flour tortillas
Large can whole green chiles
1 pound monterey jack cheese
2 egg whites
flour
green enchilada sauce or salsa verde
refried beans

Directions:
Stuff the chiles with big chunks of jack cheese cut into long pieces. Whip egg til peaks. Dip each chile in, then roll in flour. Repeat. Fry battered chiles ’til golden brown in veg oil. Drain on paper towels. Lay each chile loosely in a flour tortilla folded in half in a 9×11 inch baking dish. Add a couple TBS of refried beans to the burrito as well.Pour the green sauce of your choice inside each, then put jack cheese inside before rolling each burrito up.

Pour more sauce over the baking dish full of burritos, sprinkle with grated jack cheese and bake at 350 for 25 minutes or until cheese is melted. Serve with refried beans, rice, guacamole, pico de gallo, shredded lettuce and chopped black olives.

6 Responses to “Chile Relleno Burritos by the Beach”

  1. booge Says:

    Um: where’s the recipe? Chile rellenos are one of my weak spots. Man, I wish I were eating one RIGHT NOW. Is this possible? Please?

  2. booge Says:

    Um: where’s the recipe? Chile rellenos are one of my weak spots. Man, I wish I were eating one RIGHT NOW. Is this possible? Please?

  3. kayoko Says:

    can I move in with Tom and Carol? I’ll wash dishes!

  4. kayoko Says:

    can I move in with Tom and Carol? I’ll wash dishes!

  5. Eat Me Outta Here Says:

    My neighbor’s names are Tom and Carol. For a second I thought, “did they make this awesome dinner and not invite me?!”

  6. Eat Me Outta Here Says:

    My neighbor’s names are Tom and Carol. For a second I thought, “did they make this awesome dinner and not invite me?!”

Leave a Reply

