The Melting Pot


I was recently in the SF Bay Area and was very excited about a trip to The Melting Pot in Larkspur with my cousin Shannon. As fondue fanatics, we were fiercely let down.

We went at 6:30 on a Wednesday with 4 people. We were told they were fully booked and they said we’d have to eat at the bar. It was less than desirable to sit at the bar because there weren’t enough burners to keep our fondue melty. We were there for an hour and a half and there were 4 tables open behind us the entire time. Apparently tables were being held for “ladies night”. We only had one guy with us, my dad. Other groups of all ladies who arrived after us waited momentarily at the bar and were then seated.

The bread was dry and the service was bad (except for one very sweet and over worked bartender). I was so enraged at the whole experience that when I left, I told the hostess how I felt (and I usually don’t do that kind of stuff).

That said, the ambience was very cool- it was as if we were inside an old wine cave. Low lights, fun vibe. Our fondue was pretty good- just not hot enough due to the lack of burners. If only the bread hadn’t tasted 3 days old. I’ve only just now realized it’s a chain. Perhaps this explains things a little more. The Dark Choclate fondue wasn’t bad, but the dipping options could have been better, fresher. The fruit and cheesecake tasted like they were from Costco.

Not sure I’ll be back. It’s no Bougeouis Pig.



The Melting Pot
125 E. Sir Francis Drake Blvd.
Larkspur, CA
T: 415.461.6358

4 Responses to “The Melting Pot”

  1. kayoko Says:

    sounds like a nightmare. i walked into Max Brenner’s chocolate joint in Union Square here once. it was a scene, people everywhere, talking loudly, very cheesy suburban restaurant chain decor. i couldn’t deal and i left. this kinda sounds similar.

  2. kayoko Says:

    sounds like a nightmare. i walked into Max Brenner’s chocolate joint in Union Square here once. it was a scene, people everywhere, talking loudly, very cheesy suburban restaurant chain decor. i couldn’t deal and i left. this kinda sounds similar.

  3. chef_the_city Says:

    I love that you hate Melting Pot. One opened up a block down from me and my inner food-anarchist was risen!!!
    chefthecity.blogspot.com

  4. chef_the_city Says:

    I love that you hate Melting Pot. One opened up a block down from me and my inner food-anarchist was risen!!!
    chefthecity.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

