Roasting for Jesus

Jesus is just alright with me
Jesus is just alright, oh yeah
– Doobie Brothers

Religiously speaking, I am godless. I am a gluttonous heathen, afterall. If hard pressed, I suppose I would say I’m a non-practicing Buddhist, but that’s only because my dad makes me pray to his little shrine whenever I go to his house. But I refuse to chant during yoga- it annoys the hell out of me (they never tell you what you’re saying, or what exactly it’s for. It’s just nonsense).

However, deep down, I have a soft spot for all things Roman Catholic. Majestic cathedrals, Pope Jean-Paul II (I saw him once!), the Spanish Inquisition, Dante’s Inferno and Jesus all fascinate me to no end. It’s so bizarre- and I feel bad cause Catholicism has traumatized many of my friends.

So of course I was excited about celebrating the Jesus resurrection on Sunday. Easter means ham, hard boiled eggs, and springtime. Gotta love it. But my plans derailed when Troy and Kumiko called to cancel Easter dinner because they were sick. I sorta panicked, but Fumiko said she would come over, so I cooked dinner for the two of us. Those in disgruntled relationships, ponder this: being single means possibly eating Easter dinner ALONE. It’s a crapshoot.

I didn’t have any big meat item, but I did my usual vegetable roasting. I love roasting vegetables- not only because they taste so good, but mostly because I am lazy, and it’s the easiest thing ever. Here are my ingredients:

Right next to the garlic is a little stick of chorizo. They sell it at Blue Apron in Park Slope for $1.50!!! What a steal! It’s great cause it will hold in the fridge forever, and it’s something different from the same old bacon.

I am relatively new to the cauliflower phenomenon- Aya introduced me to it a few months ago. I’m pretty hooked though. For this, I just chopped up the cauliflower, the zucchini, the chorizo, a few cloves of garlic and peeled the red onions. Preheat oven to 400.

Disclaimer: it took me FOREVER to peel these little fuckers, which is not fun for lazy people. I will use shallots next time.
Put everything in a baking pan, drizzle olive oil all over it, add some salt, grind some pepper. I also added a few bay leaves, cause I had some. I love all the colors here:
Stir occasionally, and take out after about 30 minutes. That’s it!!!
Shave a ton of romano over it, then mix it around.
I obviously needed something else with the meal, so I just made some pasta. I sauteed an onion with a fresh sausage, and boiled fresh pasta that I randomly had in the fridge.

Put some tomato sauce with all of that, et voila! Also, fresh parsley is so necessary.
Here is our meal- Jesus Resurrection 2008. Sadly, the corner wine store was closed, so we couldn’t consume the blood of Christ. Fumiko said we drink the blood all the time, so it was no big deal- we just settled for beer. Would that be Jesus pee? OMG I’m totally going to hell.

PS- the chorizo adds a nice crunch to the soft vegetables. Fumi liked it. Give it a whirl.

6 Responses to “Roasting for Jesus”

  1. ayagwa Says:

    Hey, WOW looks delicious, just the kind of Easter Dinner I’d love! Although TMonkey and I celebrated the resurrection of Christ with some friends at FRANNY’s… It was a long wait but well worth it. We had the cauliflower app, mighty tasty, and grilled octopus (I can’t stay away from octopus these days). Then three pizza pies — but the best one was the white pit with clams!!!!

  2. ayagwa Says:

    Hey, WOW looks delicious, just the kind of Easter Dinner I’d love! Although TMonkey and I celebrated the resurrection of Christ with some friends at FRANNY’s… It was a long wait but well worth it. We had the cauliflower app, mighty tasty, and grilled octopus (I can’t stay away from octopus these days). Then three pizza pies — but the best one was the white pit with clams!!!!

  3. kayoko Says:

    i assume you consumed enough of the blood of jesus to last you a few weeks. JEALOUS! dreamy meal.

  4. kayoko Says:

    i assume you consumed enough of the blood of jesus to last you a few weeks. JEALOUS! dreamy meal.

  5. Yvo Says:

    I’m reading more and more here and I’m liking what I see. Can we be friends?

  6. Yvo Says:

    I’m reading more and more here and I’m liking what I see. Can we be friends?

Leave a Reply

