Inari, Four Ways

Inari sushi is one of those things that I always want to order even though it always tastes kind of bland. I do like bland food though. I’ve had inari covered with spicy tuna before which was pretty delish. I made my own version.


I don’t really like plain white rice. Actually I do but I have pounds of different grains at home that I need to use. I used black (or purple??) rice, white and brown. I made some sushi seasoning and also used one of those ready-to-use seasoned packets of lotus root/carrot from the Japanese grocery. I just added in extra (spicy but totally not) bamboo, peas, scallions and some chopped shiso. I usually saute some onion but I didn’t have any (and also there was a gas leak in my building but TMI).


I just topped these with some ume/shiso furikake (rice topping). It definitely tasted better than just a plain inari but not totally mind blowing.


I keep jarred salmon flakes/eggs around if I want to eat ochazuke in the morning. Is that gross?


Okay obviously this was the best. Ikura. When do those globules of orange fishiness not taste good? I just want to eat a bowl of it, like cereal.


Last one was just covered with chopped shiso. That was the best along with ikura. Do you love my plates? They look like they are from Ikea but are supposedly “concept” appetizer plates that you arrange differently according to the number you use. Which sounds so Ikea to me. So here is a meal you can make without a range, supposing you have a rice cooker.

This was totally Sandra Lee for Japanese food.

4 Responses to “Inari, Four Ways”

  1. kayoko Says:

    we MUST have an inari party at some point. like the purple rice idea- really pretty!

    ikura cereal- let’s do it!

  2. kayoko Says:

    we MUST have an inari party at some point. like the purple rice idea- really pretty!

    ikura cereal- let’s do it!

  3. Larissa Phillips Says:

    I love this post. I made inari once, and was so disappointed that it was so bland.Glad to know it’s just the nature of the dish, but I love how you’ve spiced it up!

  4. Larissa Phillips Says:

    I love this post. I made inari once, and was so disappointed that it was so bland.Glad to know it’s just the nature of the dish, but I love how you’ve spiced it up!

Leave a Reply

