Mangiamo 2007: A Night in Assisi

Ok, I know this is ridiculous– even though it’s been months since I went to Italy, I still feel the need to finish blogging my fantastic eats (my computer with all my Italy pics died a few months ago, but we’re back!).

Probably one of my best meals ever in 2007 was in Assisi, at a little place called Taverna dei Consoli. I went on a pilgrimage to Assisi to see the Giottos in the Cathedral (mindblowing), and found this place tucked behind the main Piazza.

I went for dinner, then lunch the next day. Why fuck with a good thing? The night I went, the place was pretty empty, and they were about to shut down but took me in any way. Both chefs and waiter eagerly came to talk about why their food is the best in Assisi.

Fresh house-made pasta with tomatoes and artichokes. Fresh pasta really makes a difference!:

Pork chop with prune reduction- this was THE BEST. Tangy, vinegary and perfectly cooked. The meat was so tender! No joke people, I still remember this, 4 months later :

Next day lunch- I sat on the terrace overlooking the Piazza. It was a romantic lunch by myself:
Fresh pasta with mushrooms.

One of the chefs. He loved talking to customers!
Love for St. Francis- the Bay Area’s patron saint!

Next time you’re in Italia, don’t just make a pilgrimage to Assisi for St. Francis (or the Giottos, or Cimabues)- make one for the pasta.

Tavola dei Consoli
Vc. Fortezza 1
06081 – Assisi (PG)
Tel: (+39) 075 812516

4 Responses to “Mangiamo 2007: A Night in Assisi”

  1. yoko Says:

    Oh my god, drool. There are too many places I want to go, but time and again, people tell me Italy has the best food. Copenhagen may have to wait…

  2. yoko Says:

    Oh my god, drool. There are too many places I want to go, but time and again, people tell me Italy has the best food. Copenhagen may have to wait…

  3. kayoko Says:

    girl, you owe me a stopover in NYC on your way there!!!

  4. kayoko Says:

    girl, you owe me a stopover in NYC on your way there!!!

Leave a Reply

