For the Love of Mushrooms

It’s snowing. And it’s going to snow all through the night. It’ll snow through the show I’ll be playing tonight in Asagaya. So I’m staying in until then.

On my stroll back home this morning from Hatagaya, I stopped by the supermarket with a strong urge to make me up a hot bowl of soba.

I bought raw soba noodles, dashi stock and decided to have a mushroom festival. The great thing about mushrooms in Japan is that there is quite a selection, ranging from cheap to super expensive. Today I opted for the cheap end of the spectrum. So I bought enoki and nama-nameko. Enoki has entered the American-English culinary vernacular in the past few years – I’ve seen them on menus in California and catch glimpses of it on the Food Network.

These thin guys with small caps are great butter-sauteed, boiled, steamed, you name it. They’ve got an uber-satisfying texture, chewy with just the right slipperiness. And they are cheap as hell. One 100 gram package is 150yen (a little over 1USD). I decided to grab my other favorite – nameko. Its beautiful mustard yellow color screams fall coziness and it’s slimness is perfect in soups and sautes. Another steal for 120yen per 100 grams.

I get home, thaw my toes and make my noodles (erm, with hands washed in between there somewhere). Boil noodles, heat up the dashi, throw the mushrooms in, and then the noodles, mix it up and top it off with some green onions. Oh yeah, and the kamaboko my grandma gave me from her trip to Hakone was a perfect addition. Rawk.


The ingredients (sans kamaboko from Baba-chan):

4 Responses to “For the Love of Mushrooms”

  1. kayoko Says:

    how lucky are you that you get to go to the store and buy all those mushrooms for like $2, AND fresh soba noodles???

    jealous.

  2. kayoko Says:

    how lucky are you that you get to go to the store and buy all those mushrooms for like $2, AND fresh soba noodles???

    jealous.

  3. Sonja Says:

    I agree enoki mushrooms are like $5 a pack here. When I could eat 3 packs in one sitting. I love reading measurements in grams!

  4. Sonja Says:

    I agree enoki mushrooms are like $5 a pack here. When I could eat 3 packs in one sitting. I love reading measurements in grams!

Leave a Reply

