Masitas in Jackson Heights!

Masitas are teeny-tiny Argentine pastries. I’ve been obsessed with them since always and photographing them in their natural habitat for the last three years, but I only learned recently that these miniaturized pastries are basically the same thing as petits-fours. But do not confuse them with dumb squares that look like wrapped presents!


You can find them at bakeries all over Buenos Aires, and also in Jackson Heights at La Nueva Bakery on 37th Ave. La Nueva may have a smaller assortment than your typical bakery, but the classics are all there, like this little cone of dulce de leche bathed in chocolate:


Or this coquito, cousin of the macaroon:


This one has dulce de leche between cake layers:


Here is a masita with a local twist–tiny carrot cake!


La Nueva Bakery
8502 37th Ave,
Jackson Heights, NY 11372

T: (718) 505-3700

6 Responses to “Masitas in Jackson Heights!”

  1. kayoko Says:

    they’re adorable!!! like little jewels.

  2. kayoko Says:

    they’re adorable!!! like little jewels.

  3. krista Says:

    I love the green one. I never would’ve guessed it was dulce de leche.

  4. krista Says:

    I love the green one. I never would’ve guessed it was dulce de leche.

  5. DocChuck Says:

    My wife (a registered nurse) and I, as you might expect, prefer desserts of more substantial proportions.

  6. DocChuck Says:

    My wife (a registered nurse) and I, as you might expect, prefer desserts of more substantial proportions.

Leave a Reply

