Must Do in Beijing

Forbidden City, Tienanmen Square, The Great Wall. Got ripped off at an antique store, almost got killed by a car when crossing the streets… Yes, I did all the things I was supposed to do in Beijing. Last and the most important thing to do was to go eat Peking Duck. Remember my post on homemade peking duck?

I was very excited to go to one of Beijing’s most famous Peking Duck joints. After researching around, we decided to go to the Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant, which was also included in NYT’s 36 hours in Beijing. After our cab driver got lost (wtf! If the place is one of the most popular duck restaurants, how the hell was he not able to get us there?!), we finally arrived. We had to wait for about 30 minutes, while the restaurant provided free box wine (yep, that same box wine you drank in college). Also I took these pictures after having many glasses of them, hence they are rather blurry.

They have an open duck oven area that customers can see through a glass window. Below freshly blown up ducks were brought out to be roasted in wood burning oven, and just like everything else in China, there was a master who knows what he was doing, and all the soldiers were lining up, just watching what the experts do (and one guy picked his nose with his bare finger!!!!!!!)


We didn’t have to wait too long once we sat down. A whole duck was delivered to our table, and a skillful chef cut the skin into bite sizes, and man, the way he cut just enough meat with skin was definitely an art.


Look how beautiful they were plated. It tasted the way it is supposed to be. Crunchy, and not too greasy. Whatever magic happens in the oven makes it just right. Meat wasn’t dry (Chinese eat the meat part as well, which I totally agree with) either.


It was so shiny too.

We also ordered some fancy Chinese food as well. Below is scallops with brown sauce in a noodle nest. Very pretty. They might have gotten the idea from the Olympics stadium, aka Birds Nest.

They really know how to cook eggplants in China. It melted in my mouth, and was almost as memorable as the duck.

Oops, I did it again. After the meal was done, a sufficiently boozed up Yamahomo broke the stem of wine glass.

I have to say, though, I like my Peking Duck better. Maybe because the crepe thing and hoison sauce weren’t as tasty as mine. Still I have to say the crispness of the duck was superb.

The Great Wall, one of the 7 wonders of the world.

Dadong Roast Duck Restaurant
22 Dongsishitiao
Beijing, 100007
Tel: 010/5169-0328

6 Responses to “Must Do in Beijing”

  1. kayoko Says:

    wait, do people in other countries only eat the skin and not the meat?

    wow- i would DEFINITELY travel to Beijing just for the duck. call me up the next time you make a bird!

  2. kayoko Says:

    wait, do people in other countries only eat the skin and not the meat?

    wow- i would DEFINITELY travel to Beijing just for the duck. call me up the next time you make a bird!

  3. Yamahomo Says:

    I think Japanese usually eat only skin. Need confirmation.

  4. Yamahomo Says:

    I think Japanese usually eat only skin. Need confirmation.

  5. Sonja Says:

    I just looked at your entry on homemade Peking duck and it looks so amazing! Except I’m too lazy to make that. Why are they wearing masks?

  6. Sonja Says:

    I just looked at your entry on homemade Peking duck and it looks so amazing! Except I’m too lazy to make that. Why are they wearing masks?

Leave a Reply

