Momofuku Again

I haven’t been to here in so long because I get scared by the mad groups of Asian Americans and the Bridge and Tunnel type couples. But my friend really wanted to go and of course I’m all up for ramen at any time.

We started with shrimp and grits. It had some fancy adjectives attached but I already forgot what they are. This was a really weird combination. There was crispy bacon and a COLD poached egg. I ordered it because it sounded weird and it was. But not in a good way. We also ordered those pancakes that are like Peking duck and have hoisin and cucumber along with the Berkshire pork inside. I definitely think those are the best item on the menu.

My friend got the original Momofuku ramen but I ordered the duck leg ramen because it, again, sounded weird. I guess I assumed the meat was off the bone but actually they expected me to tear it up with chopsticks. Which proved impossible. Unremarkable broth, no memma/bamboo…everything was sort of blah. Fatty duck skin doesn’t do so well when dunked in broth.

Hitachino White Ale was so good though! I would have done better just to get the pancakes and beers. I think this place is just decent but definitely not worth the line and the loudness. Going at a weird and inconvenient time like 3 pm, which I have actually done before, is the best solution. The chef was cute though.

Momofuku
163 1st ave
New York, NY 10003
212.475.7899

6 Responses to “Momofuku Again”

  1. kayoko Says:

    my eternal Momofuku debate: love David Chang, hate the food.

    what’s a girl to do???

  2. kayoko Says:

    my eternal Momofuku debate: love David Chang, hate the food.

    what’s a girl to do???

  3. ayagwa Says:

    Yah, been to Momofuku two or three times. It always “seem” like a good idea, but never is. Why is the food not delicious? Why are there so many people lined up down the street to get in? Prefer his saam bar.

  4. ayagwa Says:

    Yah, been to Momofuku two or three times. It always “seem” like a good idea, but never is. Why is the food not delicious? Why are there so many people lined up down the street to get in? Prefer his saam bar.

  5. tmonkey Says:

    I don’t even go to Momofucku anymore when Setaguyup is down the street.

  6. tmonkey Says:

    I don’t even go to Momofucku anymore when Setaguyup is down the street.

Leave a Reply

