Kimchi Jigae, Faking French Style

My sis sent me a couple pots for Christmas. Which sounds really sad but I like to roll like Martha and they are actually ideal presents for me.


But being 11 pm I didn’t have time to go buy ingredients. So I made kimchi jigae/stew. In a Le Creuset pot. Whatever…


Start with fatty pork slices in a dry pan over medium low heat. I just keep a few frozen slices in the freezer to use for this.

When your apartment smells horribly animal-y, add sliced garlic. A lot of it.

Add cut up kimchi and stir. The more funky the better. Somebody once told me there is some kind of kimchi that is fermented for years. But that’s just plain nasty. Funky is good but kimchi that starts smelling like cheese is so not it.

Now this is when you add powdered dashi or actual dashi broth. I have dried anchovy, dried shrimp, konbu, mussel and shiitake mushroom powders that are ground up. I keep them in individual ziplocks in the freezer and use them for soups. I think this is way better than that MSG-laden powder with the blue fish on the packaging, you know what I’m talking about. So anyways add whatever you want.

Add water and simmer for however long you feel like but the kimchi should become kind of translucent. I also add ddeok, or rice cakes.

I use these because they’re cute.

Okay so you end up with something that looks like this. I added sweet potato starch (??) noodles (it smells horrible when you are boiling them) and green onions.

I also made my favorite rice:

1/3 brown rice, 1/3 mixed grain wild rice, 1/3 white. I also buy these Japanese 13 mixed grains that are portioned into individual packets. Add a splash of sake and it tastes SO FREAKING GOOD.

Yeah so I started making this at around 11 and ended sometime around 2 am. Whatevs, it was good! I also just made up this recipe so anything goes. Tuna in olive oil or spam is also a good addition.

6 Responses to “Kimchi Jigae, Faking French Style”

  1. kayoko Says:

    i love that you “didn’t have time to go buy ingredients”. this is AWESOME!!! fucking fatty pork slices and rice cake balls in your freezer? mashed up mussel powder and mushroom powder? love it.

    girl, you’ve got it goin on.

    beautiful le crueset. i have a round green one whose name is Ruby.

    be nice to your sister.

  2. kayoko Says:

    i love that you “didn’t have time to go buy ingredients”. this is AWESOME!!! fucking fatty pork slices and rice cake balls in your freezer? mashed up mussel powder and mushroom powder? love it.

    girl, you’ve got it goin on.

    beautiful le crueset. i have a round green one whose name is Ruby.

    be nice to your sister.

  3. tmonkey Says:

    I thought those transparent noodles were mung bean but then again, I don’t have fatty pork slices lying around in my fridge either (mainly because pork products don’t last very long around me) so what do I know. Sweet potato noodles sound awesome though.

    Girl can cook!

    (I want a sister that gives me Le Creuset! Dang!)

  4. tmonkey Says:

    I thought those transparent noodles were mung bean but then again, I don’t have fatty pork slices lying around in my fridge either (mainly because pork products don’t last very long around me) so what do I know. Sweet potato noodles sound awesome though.

    Girl can cook!

    (I want a sister that gives me Le Creuset! Dang!)

  5. foodhoe Says:

    I love that you have all those crazy food items just sitting in your freezer! And the ground up dried anchovy, dried shrimp, kombu etc powders? Where do you get stuff like that? Holy cow, that sounds so good.

  6. foodhoe Says:

    I love that you have all those crazy food items just sitting in your freezer! And the ground up dried anchovy, dried shrimp, kombu etc powders? Where do you get stuff like that? Holy cow, that sounds so good.

Leave a Reply

