Introduction

Hello my name is Sonja and I’m a new poster here! I’ve been taking photos of food since I was 16 and never stopped. My life is recorded better in food pictures than in pictures of friends and family (that is sad). I live in Williamsburg but have never had really great food there (I seriously don’t think it exists) so I usually eat out in Manhattan and randomly in New Jersey. I also cook quite often but I prefer to eat out every chance I get! I hope to post pretty often even though I don’t really use my blogger account.

I thought I would start out with this disturbing picture of giant oysters:

Here are some kumamotos in comparison:

I’ve been kind of on an oyster-for-dessert kick…I think it actually makes sense to eat them at the end of a meal.

I just had dinner at Korean barbecue at the Manhattan branch of Fort Lee staple Madangsui. I read reviews before I went and was expecting a great from their banchan (free appetizers).

There were quite a few but they were basically just different forms of kimchi. They do serve this preserved raw crab that’s kind of rare to get in restaurants.

You need to be a little careful though because food poisoning is possible. Now you totally want to eat it I know.

We ordered kalbi (marinated shortribs) and jumurok (tenderized short rib pieces). Too much meat! Their servings are quite large and flavored sweet. They use pear in the marinade. The fat marbling is pretty intense but not really any large pieces of fat.

Delicious but ask for perilla leaves, gheneep, along with the lettuce. It is in the same family as Japanese shiso but the flavor is somewhat different. The restaurant also provides a decently spicy jigae and steamed egg dish (pretty bad). This was probably some of the better the Korean BBQ I’ve had here but then again I don’t eat it so often. Anyways, nice to meet y’all!

Madangsui
35 W 35th St
New York, NY 10001
(212) 564-9333

2 Responses to “Introduction”

  1. kayoko Says:

    YUM!!!! will def check this place out. i will stake my life for this preserved crab. let’s do this.

    where did you get those luciously (ehem) “feminine” oysters up top? lucky girl, they look delish.

  2. kayoko Says:

    YUM!!!! will def check this place out. i will stake my life for this preserved crab. let’s do this.

    where did you get those luciously (ehem) “feminine” oysters up top? lucky girl, they look delish.

Leave a Reply

