Gentrified Leftovers

Being a non profit employee, I must keep my food budget low… Yeah right. I spend way too much money on food. Some people say cooking at home saves a lot of money, but I wonder how much money I am saving by cooking… It’s doubtful. Although I often go to Western Beef to buy cheap meat, I still buy $5 eggs for baking…

But sometimes, a day or two before payday, I can’t buy things. I dig up some frozen marinara sauce, curry, or whatever. My tip is, when reheating, instead of just microwaving it, sautee vegetables and pour over the defrosted sauce. This makes a huge difference. Frozen leftovers taste like you made it from scratch.

So today’s topic is leftovers. I am already thinking about what to do with turkey the day after Tday.

Anyhow, a couple of weeks ago, I had a hand roll sushi party, and there were some leftover sashimi and seaweed salad. I chopped all the fish up (salmon, fluke, tuna), mixed with tobiko and chopped up cucumber, add soy sauce, sesame oil, a bit of rice vinegar. Let it marinate for a bit, et voila, seafood tartar on a bed of seaweed salad. I put a bit of Japanese mayo on the plate for decoration. Looks pretty, tastes great.

4 Responses to “Gentrified Leftovers”

  1. yoko Says:

    i wish i had LEFTOVER sashimi!!! i think that’s an oxymoron for me. sashimi = devouring all of it in 5 min. anyhow, let me raid your freezer sometime in this lifetime. sounds like a wormhole to tsukiji.

  2. yoko Says:

    i wish i had LEFTOVER sashimi!!! i think that’s an oxymoron for me. sashimi = devouring all of it in 5 min. anyhow, let me raid your freezer sometime in this lifetime. sounds like a wormhole to tsukiji.

  3. ce côté de paradis Says:

    That looks simple but good.

  4. ce côté de paradis Says:

    That looks simple but good.

Leave a Reply

