Mangiamo 2007: The Best Gelateria

Upon arriving in Siena for the wedding, one of the first things I did was visit my favorite gelateria right behind the Campo. It was where I had my very first gelato ever, having just moved there 7 years ago (not counting the very forgettable cone Erin, Leslie and I got in Firenze that cost a small fortune– warning: do NOT get gelato in Firenze, you’ll be so pissed off that you spent $10 for a cup of gelato to enjoy it).

This place is on Via Banchi di Sotto, if you go up the stairs on the right side of the Campo (when you are looking at the tower). I’ve been trying to find the name of the place, as I always just knew it as “Gelateria”, and I think it’s called Gelateria Bibo, although I can’t be sure.

You can choose up to 3 different flavors for a ‘small’ cone. The boys behind the counter are experts in vigorously scraping off the frozen cream from the small tubs and methodically balancing the individual little scoops onto a cone. I had nocciola (hazelnut), pistacchio e fior di latte (milk).

Ahhh, it was nice to be back in Siena…


Mangiamo 2007 Archive:
Spanish Home Cooking
24 Hours in Madrid

Leave a Reply

