San Francisco Sourdough

Back from the Bay Area, where I ate pretty well (Sushi Kuni, Scoma’s, MacArthur Park, Dynasty), but here’s what I trekked all the way back to New York with:

How ecstatic was I to find a Boudin Bakery INSIDE the United terminal at SFO? Boudin is the essence of San Francisco– it’s the best damn sourdough in the world! Since 1849! For whatever reason, NY has no good sourdough ANYWHERE. God, I actually can’t even remember the last time I had it… Look at this, it’s beautiful!



Such a hard and crunchy crust, perfectly golden. It’s actually a rather dense, more doughy bread, almost moist, just faintly sour, never overly tangy or anything.

I picked up a few things at the store- hummus, goat cheese, salami, a tomato, clam chowder, and had a feast with my coworkers. Nothing like sharing a loaf of love from San Francisco!

2 Responses to “San Francisco Sourdough”

  1. yoko Says:

    Wow, I had no idea that sourdough was scarce on the Atlantic shores as well. I can safely say I haven’t had any here in Tokyo… I kind of forgot that it existed. Now I’m sad that I remember that it’s missing from my life.

  2. yoko Says:

    Wow, I had no idea that sourdough was scarce on the Atlantic shores as well. I can safely say I haven’t had any here in Tokyo… I kind of forgot that it existed. Now I’m sad that I remember that it’s missing from my life.

Leave a Reply

