American Cake

One of my friends became an American recently. I haven’t even gotten my green card yet, but becoming a proud American is a big question. When I become old, and need to collect $2 from my social security, maybe I will.

Anyway, he hosted a party at Virgil’s in Times Square. “I became an American” party at one of a historical BBQ joints was pretty appropriate. Food was very American, not worth blogging about for me… As a gift, I decided to bake an American cake. All the pictures I saw on the web as reference were pretty generic, with blueberry stars and strawberry stripes. I had to come up with something more fun and exciting.

So I baked red and blue velvet cakes. There isn’t blue velvet cake, but instead of using red food coloring, I used blue for half the batter. Layered them, and coated with fondant. Fondant is such a bitch to work with. I watch “Ace of Cake” on Food Network all the time, and it doesn’t look too hard, but, it was very difficult. I should have made a round cake, but instead, I decided to make a perfect square cake, which was a mistake…

On top of that, this was done a couple of days after my thumb injury, so I was crippled as well. Yet, I pulled off an interesting cake. My problem when baking is, I lose my patience. In the beginning I have a lot of fun, but by the end, I get so sick of decorating, and get frustrated by the creams not cooperating with me. Overall, I think it was ok.

Don’t you love the “damn it!” part? Don’t pay too much attention on the weird design part. That’s when I lost patience and became “whatever…”

It was, after all, blue, red and white everywhere. Cake tasted good, but fondant tasted pretty crappy. I should have just used regular cream…

I like baking, but exacting is not my forte, and real cake baking is all about precise measurement, especially when it comes to decoration. Lazy Susan is also a very nice item to have, but I am not allowed to buy any more gadgets…

Soon, I will blog about all the cakes I baked for one of my friend’s son. Elephant shape for his 1st, Thomas the Tank Engine for 2nd, and polka dots for 3rd. I missed his 4th, so5th has to be an extra special one. Let’s see.

6 Responses to “American Cake”

  1. Hamamama Says:

    YOU ARE UNBELIEVABLE!!

  2. Hamamama Says:

    YOU ARE UNBELIEVABLE!!

  3. Grasshopper Says:

    unbelievable! ‘proud’ American?!

  4. Grasshopper Says:

    unbelievable! ‘proud’ American?!

  5. ayagwa Says:

    Aww that is sweet. I remember when I (somewhat reluctantly) became an American citizen… My parents and I went out for a breakfast at IHOP’s and then later a gigantic lobster dinner. I felt so ill afterwards swore I would never eat lobster again. That lasted a few months.

  6. ayagwa Says:

    Aww that is sweet. I remember when I (somewhat reluctantly) became an American citizen… My parents and I went out for a breakfast at IHOP’s and then later a gigantic lobster dinner. I felt so ill afterwards swore I would never eat lobster again. That lasted a few months.

Leave a Reply

