Natural Lawson Love

Up until Tuesday, I had to cross the street to go to nearest combini (convenient store) at work. In Japan, combinis are rampant – and don’t get the bad rap that convenient stores in America get. They sell a wide assortment of lunchables, drinks, magazines, etc. It’s also a great place to make an emergency bathroom stop.

So I was absolutely ecstatic to see one open up in the lobby of my work building. And it’s not just a regular one – it’s a Natural Lawson’s. Lawson is one of the most common combini’s in Japan. Recently there have been variations of the regular Lawson’s popping up around Tokyo – Lawson 100 (100 yen Lawson), Lawson Plus (Lawson with expanded specialties – i.e. produce) and Natural Lawson. Natural Lawson is my favorite – especially as a Northern Californian.

The marketing ploy is similar to say, Whole Foods, with Dr. Bronners toiletries and onigiri made with brown rice (instead of regular short grain white rice). I would only come across a Natural Lawson’s when I went to trendy areas such as Omotesando or Akasaka-Mitsuke, but now that it has become just one elevator ride away, I will probably become very well acquainted with all of their stock.

My first purchase was Lavender hand soap produced by a brand I had come across for the first time called Leaf & Botanicals for 700yen (about $6). It was a little pricey – but that’s also part of the package of purchasing something at Natural Lawsons in Tokyo. I sneakily snagged some photos of the shelves with my phone.


Baked goods

Usual Starbucks stuff on the left, Soy milk and Natural Lawson exclusive smoothie fruit juices on the right.

Leave a Reply

