Perfect Pork Ribs

Aren’t you drooling?

(As always, I forgot to take pictures of mine, and this is not from my kitchen)

Recently there are quite a few BBQ restaurants popping up in New York, including Justin Timberlake’s Southern Hospitality (let’s bet how long it lasts). Pork ribs, its sweet and juicy meat, and the flavor of summer is always mouthwatering, and when it’s done right, it’s sooo darn good.

I used to live in NJ, and had a backyard grill and made whole kind of grilled food including fucked by beer can chicken (or drunken chicken), cedar smoked salmon, etc. Now that I am back in the city, my option to have an outside grill are pretty slim. So I looked around for an indoor pork rib recipe, and man, this was awesome.

You simmer slab of pork rib bought at the store with beef broth and peppercorns for 2 hours. Take it out of the liquid, smear it with BBQ sauce (recipe follows), broil it until it gets crispy outside. Keep an eye on the oven while you broil it, since it takes just a couple of minutes.

Because you boil the meat in beef broth, it adds a lot more flavor to the meat, and it was the juiciest pork rib I’ve had. I’ve tried dry rub, and other methods, but trust me, this is the best and easiest way to make a juicy pork rib.

Recipe for homemade BBQ sauce (not really a recipe, since I don’t measure. Don’t follow the amount I say since I totally made it up)

  • ketchup (about 1 cup)
  • brown sugar (about half cup packed)
  • Worcestershire sauce (three table spoon)
  • apple cider vinegar (three table spoon)
  • liquid smoke (2 table spoon)

Simmer them together and it’s as good (or better than) as store bought ones.

Of course I made corn bread to go with it. Trust me, this is gooooood!

Leave a Reply

