Little Pepper

Back to Shea Stadium for some Mets action last night, so you know what that means…back to the last stop on the 7 train for some szechuan. This time my friend Bill and I tried Little Pepper, a place we hear gives Spicy and Tasty a run for its money.

For starters, we had pork dumplings with spicy sauce. Definitely not the kind you get at the Gourmet Wok take-out place in the city where it’s all dough, no filling. These were very thin layered dumplings with an oh-so pungent kick of chili. (almost forgot to snap a photo before we starting digging in!)


Then it was the Dan Dan Noodles — I must say, these beat out Spicy and Tasty’s, in my humble opinion. A generous portion of warm noodles with amazing flavors.


For the main course we had the lamb with spices and enhanced pork. To our surprise, the lamb was very middle-easternesque because of the spices – especially cumin. It was delicious, but if you were blind-folded, you wouldn’t think you were eating this in a Chinese restaurant.


When I first heard the words “enhanced pork” it either made me giggle or gag. What in the world? I just googled and found:

“Enhanced meat can be defined as fresh, whole muscle meat that has been injected with a solution of water and other ingredients that may include salt, phosphates, antioxidants, and flavorings. There’s really nothing sinister about enhanced meat. The self-basted Butterball turkey that you cook at Thanksgiving is an enhanced meat. When you brine chicken overnight in your refrigerator, you’re making a form of enhanced meat.”

Okay, that makes me feel better. It actually tasted very similar to twice cook pork to me – not so much spicy as it was salty. I still can’t put a finger on it, but something was so spicy (in a good way) that I came this close to shedding a tear!!


If I had a gun to my head (by who? the szechuan hostages?!), I think I’d have to pick Spicy and Tasty (you just can’t beat the sauteed pork), but if I were forced to go back to Little Pepper, it’s not like i would be kicking and screaming all the way there…probably skipping and smiling.

Little Pepper
133-43 Roosevelt Avenue
(it’s on the lower level of the bldg)

718-939-7788
7 Train to Main Street (end of line)

4 Responses to “Little Pepper”

  1. kayoko Says:

    what an eclectic range of dishes! i’m super intrigued. but before then, i must go to Spicy and Tasty!!! you can bet i will put a gun to your head if you don’t call me the next time you are going!!!

  2. kayoko Says:

    what an eclectic range of dishes! i’m super intrigued. but before then, i must go to Spicy and Tasty!!! you can bet i will put a gun to your head if you don’t call me the next time you are going!!!

  3. tmonkey Says:

    Enhanced meat! Whoa! I hope genetically modified meat isn’t next!

  4. tmonkey Says:

    Enhanced meat! Whoa! I hope genetically modified meat isn’t next!

Leave a Reply

