The Umami Reader, vol.002

Noteworthy readings, websites, blogs and eats:

  • Gawker says: Rosé is the beverage of choice for hipsters and old folks for the summer (make sure to also read the WSJ article, and watch the video too)
  • kanshefle listens to KCRW’s podcast, Good Food
  • Erin’s updated food photography website— gorgeous!

Speaking of Sam Mason, I would like to take the opportunity to share with you my experiences with this HOT pastry chef. When two friends, my mom and I went to uber-experimental WD-50 last summer, Mason whipped us up some fantastic desserts, which may have been the highlight of the meal for me.

I am a bad food blogger, and I can’t recall what exactly any of these dishes were (I don’t even want to guess, cause my explainations wouldn’t do the creations justice), and I’m sorry the pictures aren’t that pretty, but here are some to give you an idea of Mason’s artistry:

Now the best part: we got to go back to the kitchen to say hello to Wylie, and unbeknownst to us, meet this hottie specimen of a patisserie named Sam Mason. Wylie kept his kitchen going like a well-oiled machine, but when we came in he was really friendly and goofy. LOVE Wylie.

While I was taking in all of the kitchen madness, I turned around to see my MOTHER gazing into Sam’s eyes and GROPING his beautifully tattooed arm!! Like her hand was literally feeling up his full 4-color sleeve. HILARIOUS!!! She kept giggling like a little girl and cooing about how much she loved his desserts, when really, she was just in love with HIM. I was in-awe slash mortified, but needless to say, he was eating it up. Who knew she had so much game??

Mason has since left WD-50, and will be opening his own dessert joint, Tailor, which according to Eater, has been a horribly delayed process. When it finally opens, I will: A.) not be taking my mother, so I can B.) try the groping arm tactic myself!!

*k*

***
Please send us any fun food-related links to umamimart@gmail.com

2 Responses to “The Umami Reader, vol.002”

  1. erin Says:

    OMG. I cannot WAIT to go to Sam Mason’s new dessert joint. I hope it opens soon!

  2. erin Says:

    OMG. I cannot WAIT to go to Sam Mason’s new dessert joint. I hope it opens soon!

Leave a Reply

