Oh so Spicy, Oh so Tasty

I was introduced to this unbelievable szechuan restaurant called Spicy and Tasty in Queens by my friend Bill. We are avid Mets fans, so we try to get there as often as we can when we’re headed to a ballgame.

I took my friends Kevin & Bea there last night before we went to see watch some baseball. I am proud to say I think they are hooked as well! I was very lucky to dine with them last night as they are total foodies like me – and Bea speaks chinese, so she served as a valuable interpreter for us! Unfortunately I just look the part.

The only thing I requested (okay, demanded!) was that we order the shredded pork in fresh hot pepper. TO DIE FOR! The word succulent comes first to mind. Trust me, you have this dish once, and you will be craving it again for days (and no NYC restaurant has anything like it – trust me, I’ve been searching).


For an appetizer, Bea ordered us the shredded dry bean curd with celery. Very good – and a perfect summer dish as it had a refreshing taste to it (and the only non-spicy thing on our table)! If she wasn’t with me, I would’ve never have thought to have ordered this dish. Lucky for you guys, I remembered to snap a photo with only about three bites left! Phew!


In addition to the pork, we had two other main dishes – the bean curd with minced pork (silky!) and the noodles with minced meat (delectable!). Both were just as pleasing to the tastebuds.


I highly recommend this place to meat eaters and those who definitely LOVE things with a KICK. Bland eating vegetarians need not apply. Don’t be embarrassed if you get a runny nose or break out into a sweat. It’s called Spicy and Tasty for a reason!

The “S&T” is located at 39-07 Prince Street at 39th Street… so easy to get to on the 7 Train. Enjoy!!

2 Responses to “Oh so Spicy, Oh so Tasty”

  1. kayoko Says:

    always a treat to have native speakers with you, definitely. you KNOW the food is really too good when halfway through the meal you forgot to take a picture. good work in salvaging the last bite of the celery dish, Lori! you are a true food blogger.

  2. kayoko Says:

    always a treat to have native speakers with you, definitely. you KNOW the food is really too good when halfway through the meal you forgot to take a picture. good work in salvaging the last bite of the celery dish, Lori! you are a true food blogger.

Leave a Reply

